Collaboration is a key value at the heart of OICR.

Collaboration is an integral driver of our leadership team, which brings together experts with diverse voices, backgrounds and skill sets to lead our shared pursuit of world-class translational cancer research together. OICR is overseen by a volunteer Board of Directors, which is responsible for the success and sustainability of the Institute and the overall governance of the affairs of the corporation.

OICR has joined the 50 – 30 Challenge. This is a challenge to increase the representation and inclusion of diverse groups within the workplace

Board of Directors
Susan Fitzpatrick (Chair)
Head Canadian Drug Agency Transition Office at Health Canada
Learn more
Jason Berman, MD
Chief Executive Officer and Scientific Director, Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO); Research Institute and Vice President Research, CHEO
Learn more
Rodney Cheung, P. Eng, EMBA
Global Chief Information Officer (CIO), BGIS
Learn more
Jennifer Chan, MD
Director of the Arnie Charbonneau Cancer Institute and an Associate Professor in the Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, at the University of Calgary
Learn more
Janice Deakin, PhD
President and CEO, Higher Education Quality Council
Learn more
Laurie Harrison
Former Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer, Hospital for Sick Children
Learn more
Wendy Kelley, JD
Chief Legal Officer, People Corporation
Learn more
Ken Lawless, MSc
President and Chief Executive Officer, Epitope Capital Corp.
Learn more
Anne-Marie Mes-Masson, PhD
Professor at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Montreal, Deputy Scientific Director, Basic and Translational Research at the Centre de recherche du Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CRCHUM).
Learn more
Ken Newport, CPA
Chair, BioCanRx
Learn more
Andrea Redway, LLB
Patient Representative
Learn more
Nancy Ross, PhD
Vice-Principal Research, Queen’s University
Learn more
Dawn Powell, MSc
President, Dawn M. Powell Appraisals
Learn more
Bradly G. Wouters, PhD
Executive Vice President, Science and Research, University Health Network
Learn more
Scientific Advisory Board
Richard L. Schilsky, MD, FASCO (Chair)
  • Former Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, American Society of Clinical Oncology
Ewan Birney, PhD
  • Director and Joint Head of Research and Senior Scientist, European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI)
Hakim Djaballah, PhD
  • President and CEO, Keren Therapeutics
Olivera J. Finn, PhD
  • Chair and Professor, Department of Immunology
    University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
  • Director, Immunology Program
    University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute
Funda Meric-Bernstam, MD
  • Department of Investigational Cancer Therapeutics,
    Division of Cancer Medicine
    MD Anderson Cancer Center
Edward F. Patz, MD
  • James and Alice Chen Distinguished Professor of Radiology
    Professor of Radiology
    Professor in Pathology
    Professor in Pharmacology & Cancer Biology
    Member of the Duke Cancer Institute
Sylvia K. Plevritis, PhD
  • Professor and Chair
    Department of Biomedical Data Science


Deborah Schrag, MD, MPH
  • Chair of the Department of Medicine
    Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center